In 2017 the award committee for the Book-of-the-Year Citation from the Conference on Christianity and Literature will consider entries from the following genres:

1) Literary criticism and scholarship;

2) Biography.

The following are NOT eligible for the award:

1) New editions and translations;

2) Reference volumes and encyclopediae;

3) Books marketed for a juvenile or young adult audience.

In 2018, the award committee will consider works published in either 2017 or 2018 in the following categories: Original literary art including essays, fiction, drama, and poetry.

Please remember especially that the CCL Book Award does not apply to volumes written to explore links between Christianity and politics or Christianity and history. We consider only volumes that relate Christianity and literature.

Publishers, not authors, initiate all submissions; and publishers may nominate any number of eligible books. To be considered for the 2017 award, the work must be published between September 1, 2016 and August 31, 2017. Our Citation is made at the annual MLA Convention in January.

To ensure that judges have adequate time to study the entries, copies of nominated books should be sent as soon as possible, and before September 1, 2017, to each of the Book Award Committee members listed below:

Books received after September 1 will not be eligible for consideration. Please contact Professor Paul Contino at

  1. Paul Contino
    Seaver College
    Pepperdine University
    24255 Pacific Coast Highway
    Malibu, CA 90263

    Michael Tomko
    Department of Humanities
    Villanova University
    800 Lancaster Avenue
    Villanova, PA 19085

  2. Linda Mills Woolsey
    Department of English
    Houghton College
    Houghton, NY 14744