Menu

CCL LEADERSHIP

ELECTED OFFICERS

President: Darryl Tippens, Abilene Christian University, darryl.tippens@acu.edu
Vice President: Susan M. Felch, Calvin College, felch@calvin.edu

Secretary: Kathryn Stelmach Artuso, California Lutheran University, kartuso@callutheran.edu
Treasurer: Mitchell Harris, Augustana College (South Dakota), mitchell.harris@augie.edu 

 

ELECTED DIRECTORS

Mideast: Gary Ciuba, Kent State University, gciuba@kent.edu 

Southeast: Chad Schrock, Lee University, cschrock@leeuniversity.edu
Southwest: Evan Jay Getz, Houston Baptist University, egetz@hbu.edu

West: Patricia Andujo, Azusa Pacific University, pandujo@apu.edu
 
Midwest: Edward Upton, Valparaiso University, edward.upton@valpo.edu
 
Northeast: Gregor Thuswaldner, Gordon College, gregor.thuswaldner@gordon.edu

At Large: Jennifer Holberg, Calvin College, jholberg@calvin.edu

At Large: Clare Costley King’oo, University of Connecticut, clare.kingoo@uconn.edu

 

EDITOR, CHRISTIANITY & LITERATURE
Mark Eaton, Azusa Pacific University, meaton@apu.edu


 

STANDING COMMITTEES

Book Award

Lynda Szabo, Geneva College, Chair
Daniel Gibbons, Catholic University of America
Linda Mills Woolsey, Houghton College

Nominating

Chad Schrock, Lee University, Chair
Patricia Andujo, Azusa Pacific University
Jeffry Davis, Wheaton College

Publications

Carissa Turner Smith, Charleston Southern University, Chair
Edward Upton, Valparaiso University
Cassandra Falke, UiT, The Arctic University of Norway

 

ABOUT THE PRESIDENT

Formerly the Provost at Pepperdine University from 2001 to 2014, Darryl Tippens became University Distinguished Professor at Abilene Christian University in 2014. Before heading to Pepperdine, Tippens taught at ACU from 1987-2000 as the James W. Culp Distinguished Professor of English. Prior to that, he was professor and chair of the Division of Language and Literature for 14 years at his alma mater, Oklahoma Christian University. Tippens earned his M.A. degree (1971) and Ph.D. (1973) in English from Louisiana State University. He has held post-doctoral fellowships at the University of Chicago, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Kansas, and Baylor University. Most of his research has centered on Shakespeare, 17th-century English literature, and the intersections between Christianity and literature. In 1997, he co-edited Shadow & Light: Literature and the Life of Faith, a popular anthology for ACU Press featuring fiction, essays and poems by 48 writers, now in its third edition. His latest book is Pilgrim Heart: The Way of Jesus in Everyday Life (2006).

 

ABOUT THE VICE PRESIDENT

Susan Felch is Professor of English and Director of the Center for Christian Scholarship at Calvin College. She received her undergraduate degree in music from Wheaton College and also earned her MA in theology from Wheaton. After teaching high school music and English, Professor Felch entered a doctoral program in literature at the Catholic University of America. She received her PhD in 1991 and joined the Calvin College English department in 1992. Professor Felch is a mentor for the Lilly Graduate Fellows program and a frequent speaker at conferences and workshops. She is the author and editor of numerous books, including The Cambridge Companion to Literature and Religion (Cambridge, 2016); The Emmaus Readers: Listening for God in Contemporary Fiction (Paraclete, 2008, 2009), co-edited with Gary Schmidt; Elizabeth I and Her Age (W. W. Norton, 2009), coedited with Donald V. Stump, which received the 2010 Translation or Teaching Edition prize from the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women; and Elizabeth Tyrwhit's Morning and Evening Prayers (Ashgate, 2008), winner of the Josephine A. Roberts Scholarly Edition Award.