In 2022 the award committee for the Book-of-the-Year Citation from the Conference on Christianity and Literature will consider entries from from the category original literary art or “belles lettres” (e.g., essays, fiction, drama, and poetry).

Please note that novels, poetry collections, new editions, translations, reference volumes, encyclopedias, juvenile, and young adult titles, are all eligible for the award this year, but literary criticism and biography are not. They will be eligible for next year’s award. The CCL Book Award does not apply to volumes written to explore general links between Christianity and politics, or Christianity and history. We consider only volumes that relate Christianity and literature.

Publishers, not authors, initiate all submissions; and publishers may nominate any number of eligible books. Please note that any work within the categories of literary criticism and literary biography published during the last two year period will be eligible for the award.  To be considered for the 2022 award, the original date of publication must fall between September 1, 2020 and September 1, 2022

The award is currently scheduled to be presented at a CCL special event during the annual Modern Language Association Convention in San Francisco, January 5-8, 2023. To ensure that judges have adequate time to evaluate the entries, copies of nominated books should be sent as soon as possible, and before September 1, 2022, to each of the three Book Award Committee members listed below:

Chad Schrock
Attn. CCL Award
3606 Crestwood Dr.
Cleveland, TN 37312

Patricia Brown
Attn. CCL Award
5385 Declan Street
Riverside, CA 92504

Megan Murton
Attn. CCL Award
5129 Chillum Place NE
Washington DC, 20011

Books received after September 1, 2022 will not be eligible for consideration. Access to a digital copy, when feasible, would be appropriate, to the email addresses,, and