Menu

CCL LEADERSHIP

ELECTED OFFICERS

President: Darryl Tippens, Abilene Christian University, darryl.tippens@acu.edu
Vice President: Carissa Turner Smith, Charleston Southern University, csmith@csuniv.edu
Secretary: Chad Schrock, Lee University, cschrock@leeuniversity.edu
Treasurer: Laura Veltman, California Baptist University, lveltman@calbaptist.edu 

 

ELECTED DIRECTORS

East: Andrew J. Harvey, Grove City College, AJHarvey@gcc.edu 

Southeast: Todd Edmondson, Milligan College: toddcedmondson@gmail.com
Southwest: Brent Newsom, Oklahoma Baptist University, brent.newsom@okbu.edu
West: Patricia Brown, Azusa Pacific University, plbrown@apu.edu
 
Midwest: Edward Upton, Valparaiso University, edward.upton@valpo.edu
 
At Large: Cynthia Wallace, St. Thomas More College: cwallace@stmcollege.ca
At Large: Michael Tomko, Villanova University, michael.tomko@villanova.edu
At Large: Matthew Potts, Harvard Divinity School, mpotts@hds.harvard.edu

At Large: Martha Greene Eads, Eastern Mennonite University, martha.eads@emu.edu

 

EDITOR, CHRISTIANITY & LITERATURE
Mark Eaton, Editor, Azusa Pacific University, meaton@apu.edu


ASSOCIATE EDITORS, CHRISTIANITY & LITERATURE
Matthew J. Smith, Azusa Pacific University, mjsmith@apu.edu

Caleb D. Spencer, Azusa Pacific University, cspencer@apu.edu

 

ABOUT THE PRESIDENT

Formerly the Provost at Pepperdine University from 2001 to 2014, Darryl Tippens became University Distinguished Professor at Abilene Christian University in 2014. Before heading to Pepperdine, Tippens taught at ACU from 1987-2000 as the James W. Culp Distinguished Professor of English. Prior to that, he was professor and chair of the Division of Language and Literature for 14 years at his alma mater, Oklahoma Christian University. Tippens earned his M.A. degree (1971) and Ph.D. (1973) in English from Louisiana State University. He has held post-doctoral fellowships at the University of Chicago, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Kansas, and Baylor University. Most of his research has centered on Shakespeare, 17th-century English literature, and the intersections between Christianity and literature. In 1997, he co-edited Shadow & Light: Literature and the Life of Faith, a popular anthology for ACU Press featuring fiction, essays and poems by 48 writers, now in its third edition. His latest book is Pilgrim Heart: The Way of Jesus in Everyday Life (2006).

 

ABOUT THE VICE PRESIDENT

Carissa Turner Smith is Professor of English and Writing Center Director at Charleston Southern University. She holds a B.A. from Wheaton College and an M.A. and Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University. She is Associate Editor for Arts and Humanities of Christian Scholars Review. She is the author of Cyborg Saints: Religion and Posthumanism in Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction (Routledge, 2019) and numerous articles in such journals as African American Review, Literature and Theology, and Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature.